top of page

Events Calendar

Tuesday 21 March - Monthly Meeting

Inhouse Summer Flower Competition

Speaker:  Dale Gould from the Beer Factory

Topic: Hop Growing and Beer Brewing
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

 

Tuesday 28 March - Monthly Morning Team

10.15am, Morning Tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10


Tuesday 18 April - Monthly Meeting

Speaker – K-J Dillon, HoyaHoya Ltd

Subject – Hoyas
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

 

Tuesday 25 April - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning Tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 16 May - Monthly Meeting

Speaker: Claire Bibby from The Heritage Garden

Topic: Seed collecting, storing and growing
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

 

May – date to be confirmed

Pruning Demonstration at Jennifer Hutson’s Garden
 

Tuesday 30 May - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning Tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 20 June - Monthly Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be confirmed
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

 

Tuesday 25 June - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning Tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 18 July - Monthly Meeting
Guest speaker and topic to be confirmed
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

Tuesday 25 July - Monthly Morning Tea
10.15   Morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

August 15 Meeting - Monthly Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be confirmed

7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

Saturday 26 - Sunday 27 August

56th Annual Spring Flower Show at Pataka

Read more

Tuesday 29 August - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 16 September - Monthly Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be confirmed

7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

Thursday 26 September - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 17 October - Monthly Meeting

Guest speaker and topic to be confirmed

7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

Monday 30 October – Thursday 2 November

Trip to the Centuria Taranaki Garden Festival

Tuesday 31 October - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 21 November - Monthly Meeting

Topic  ‘ei katu Cook Island Flower Crown

Speaker Lily Marsters

Tuesday 28 November - Monthly Morning Tea

10.15am, Morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10

Tuesday 5 December - Monthly Meeting

Christmas Party
7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay

Saturday 6 December

Christmas Garden Party at TBHS President's House.

MONTHLY MEETINGS

We meet every 3rd Tuesday of the month from February to November. 7pm at the Community Church, 25 Mana Avenue, Titahi Bay.

MONTHLY
MORNING TEA

We meet for an informal morning tea at Columbus Café, Mitre 10 on the last Tuesday of the month, 10.15am.

SPRING FLOWER SHOW

Our Spring Flower Show, held annually in spring is a society highlight. Read more

NEW MEMBERS WELCOME

We welcome visitors and new members from the Porirua region and beyond.

MONTHLY MEETING
COMPETITIONS

We have a competition at every meeting (except December). 

We encourage everyone to take part. You can enter one item per category.

 

The categories for the meeting competition are:

  • Bloom -  a cut flower

  • Shrub – flowering or not

  • Vegetable/fruit

  • Container of growing flowers

  • Container of growing foliage

  • Collection of herbs

  • Novice – for people entering for the first time. It can be anything from the garden

  1. The doors open at 7pm so that there is plenty of time to get your competition entries set up.   

  2. Put your entry in (or beside) one of the numbered green containers. Record on the clipboard your name, number and name of item. That helps Margaret, who runs the competition, identify who wins what.

  3. Voting starts at 7.20pm.  

  4. Vote for your one choice in each category. There are little slips of paper provided in each section of entries.

  5. At the end of the year the winner is awarded the ‘plate’ and a prize.

bottom of page